Hitting vs Pitching; where is the strat?

Moderator: Palmtana

• Author

Overwatch009

Hitting vs Pitching; where is the strat?

PostMon Sep 22, 2014 5:58 pm

Greeting and salutations,

I have just started my first team recently. I am new to SOM, but have been playing baseball sims since Earl Weaver on DOS. I currently play OOTP, and have over 20 seasons played. I enjoy and agree with the outcomes more often then not in OOTP's simulation. That being said, the outcomes of games played in my SOM league seem not very "simlike" to me.

http://onlinegames.strat-o-matic.com/league/424450 my team is the Geezers

After doing much research on these forums (which I should have done before purchasing teams) it would seem that ignoring pitching entirely, while stacking a lineup of all righty or lefty power hitters appropriate to your home park is the be all, end all strategy. If that is the case, then I must express my complete disappointment with this game. It's almost like watching an over the line game as opposed to a big league ballgame. What happened to "great pitching dominates great hitting"?

I am not trying to "whine" or "bitch" at all, just feel misled that a game that has the word strat in its title makes such a mockery of all time great pitchers. I enjoy pitching and always have. I like speed and defense as well, but it seems like a waste in this game.

I would greatly appreciate any cogent advice or thoughts on this. If making a team of lefty rakers in a ballpark that is 265' down the line in right will always be the best, then I will be happy to go back to my OOTP league.

STEVE F

Re: Hitting vs Pitching; where is the strat?

PostMon Sep 22, 2014 6:13 pm

I have learned that if you want your pitchers to do well, avoid $100M leagues. $80M max and $60 is probably best

andycummings65

PostMon Sep 22, 2014 6:22 pm

Ballpark Effects and the fact that SOM creates the cards to recreate a specific season are the two biggest reasons for what you've noticed.