Round Tables.

Round Tables.

Postby cummings2 » Sat Dec 17, 2005 3:01 am

O.K. just a thought that I am throwing out there to see if it's a dud idea that's floating in my head right now (they usually are) or if maybe there's some interest:

One of the things that's been getting my goat (if only a little bit) is the seemingly increasing number of "Help my team" kind of threads. It doesn't upset me since I understand perfectly, being a newbie myself, how it is to have a real head scratcher for a team where nothing seems to make sense. I really think that the strat community is pretty cool and that the seasoned vets are great as they always offer help in a respectful and educated manner. However, little by little everyplayer does the same. It seems like some of the AD leagues are compilations of 12 managers trying to do the same thing in different ballparks and the one who wins is usually the one that has the most patience with his/her players.

I remember getting tons of really cool info in this forum (strategy) in the old forums, maybe in time this new version will hold the same ammount of knowledge to offer the young ones like myself, but sometimes I don't quite think it will since the old forums requiered a different log-in and I believe that that extra step used to filter a lot of "give me a quick fix" kind of posts and left room for some more interesting and fun stuff.

Sometimes I feel weird about some of the advise that is thrown in the boards, they come from players whose teams I've had in leagues of mine and sometimes I feel like saying "Hey, I wouldn't take advise from that manager if I were you, I've seen how he/she manages" but it's not really my place to say things like that, but, if there were some threads where some of the guys that know a bit more just throw out some thoughts on several subjects maybe, just maybe the young flesh would be better able to discern and think for him/herself.

So this is what I'm thinking of: