strat mystery game experts

Our Mystery Card games - The '70s Game, Back to the '80s, Back to the '90s

strat mystery game experts

Postby scorehouse » Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:24 pm

i've seen posts where in the mystery games, managers, in the opening couple of series, let hal set their lineups and pitchers. some swear by this, others have said hal just takes the most expensive players and starts them. especially pitchers. any thoughts or experience with hal on this?
scorehouse

Postby kenhutchings » Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:32 pm

First of all, while I may be a veteran, I am no expert. I believe that HAL chooses the pitching rotation based on the salary value of the pitcher in the order of their salary. If you have four * pitchers, he will use a four man rotation consisting of those players, even if you happen to have a better non * pitcher in your rotation.

With regards to the lineup, it seems that HAL will generally choose the better player for each position. I was once involved in a theme league where my team consisted of Expos players, and unfortunately I ended up with Gary Carter's stinker card for that league, and HAL chose Barry Foote to start over GC. However, as with anything dealing with HAL, he's never consistent.

I will sometimes let HAL choose my lineup, and at other times I'll do my lineup. Sometimes I will set just one of the lineups (vs. RHP, for example), and sometimes I will use just a partial lineup. It has been my experience if I use a partial lineup that HAL will not allow the use of blank lineup positions; if in a non-DH league, I left positions 6 and 7 open, then he'll move my number 8 player to the number 6 position and then choose the other two.
kenhutchings

Postby scorehouse » Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:49 pm

matches what i thought exceot hal will sometimes go by the better fielder.
scorehouse

Postby sphilipp8 » Fri Sep 09, 2011 8:34 pm

Probably shouldn't be responding to this since I'm in your league...